Denver shooting: victim Jessica Ghawi narrowly missed earlier killing

Raf Sanchez/The Telepgraph

Jessica-Ghawi-narrowly-missed-earlier-killing.

One of the victims of the Aurora cinema shooting was an aspiring sports journalist who narrowly missed being involved in another shooting last month.

Ghawi, who tweeted under the name Jessica Redfield, spent part of her final hours on Twitter describing her excitement at seeing the new Batman film.

Jessica Ghawi, 24, was among the 12 people killed when a gunman burst into a screening of the Dark Knight Rises early this morning and opened fire into the crowd.

In her final blog post in June, Ghawi described the “empty, almost sickening feeling” she felt after nearly being involved in a shooting in Toronto, Canada, that left one person dead and seven injured.

She said she was in a food court and ordered a burger at 6.20pm, just three minutes before the gunman opened fire.

“I was shown how fragile life was on Saturday,” she wrote. “I saw the terror on bystanders’ faces. I saw the victims of a senseless crime. I saw lives change. I was reminded that we don’t know when or where our time on Earth will end.”

She concluded: ” I know I truly understand how blessed I am for each second I am given.”

Read full article at The Telegraph.

~ by Rafael Martel on July 20, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
